Nintendo Switch Online has added Fire Emblem: Fortune’s Weave icon rewards in four limited-time waves. Here is what is included, what it costs, and when each wave ends.
![]()
Image: IGDB
Fire Emblem’s latest Switch Online rewards are now in their final stretch
Fire Emblem: Fortune’s Weave icon elements are currently available through Nintendo Switch Online, with Nintendo’s official schedule placing the fourth and final wave from October 7 at 6:00 p.m. PT through October 14 at 5:59 p.m. PT. That timing gives players one last weekly window to spend My Nintendo Platinum Points on user icon parts inspired by the new tactical RPG.
Nintendo’s own news post describes the offer as a limited-time set of icon elements for user icons. Nintendo Everything reported that the campaign began alongside the launch of Fire Emblem: Fortune’s Weave, and has been updated weekly as new sets went live on September 23, September 30, and October 7. GoNintendo also listed the same four-wave schedule shortly after the campaign began.
The practical tension is simple: the Fire Emblem Fortune’s Weave icons rotate out on a strict timetable, but the pieces players redeem do not behave like temporary rentals. Nintendo Everything notes that redeemed icon elements remain on the player’s account even if their Nintendo Switch Online membership later ends. In other words, the campaign is limited by claim window, not by long-term access to items already redeemed.
What the Fire Emblem Fortune’s Weave icon rewards include
The rewards are user icon elements themed around Fire Emblem: Fortune’s Weave. Nintendo Everything identifies the available categories as characters, backgrounds, and frames. Nintendo’s official post frames them as exclusive rewards players can use to create a new look for their user icon through the Nintendo Switch Online rewards system.
The cost follows Nintendo’s familiar Missions & Rewards structure. According to Nintendo Everything and GoNintendo, character icon elements cost 10 My Nintendo Platinum Points each, while backgrounds and frames cost 5 Platinum Points each. Nintendo’s own page confirms that My Nintendo Platinum Points are the currency used for the promotion, though the outlet reports provide the specific per-item pricing.
The source text available for the campaign does not name every individual character or show a text list of every design in each wave. Nintendo Everything says it has looks at the weekly sets, but the supplied text only confirms the categories and weekly rollout. That means the confirmed shopping advice is broad rather than character-specific: if you care about completing a set, check the Nintendo Switch Online app during the active wave rather than assuming a later rerun.
The full wave schedule and the deadline that matters
Nintendo lists four availability windows for the Nintendo Switch Online Fire Emblem icons. Wave 1 ran from September 16 at 6:00 p.m. PT to September 23 at 5:59 p.m. PT. Wave 2 ran from September 23 at 6:00 p.m. PT to September 30 at 5:59 p.m. PT. Wave 3 ran from September 30 at 6:00 p.m. PT to October 7 at 5:59 p.m. PT. Wave 4 began October 7 at 6:00 p.m. PT and ends October 14 at 5:59 p.m. PT.
Nintendo Everything describes the rollout cadence as new icons arriving every Wednesday, with Thursday timing in Europe, and says the run officially ends on October 14, 2026. Nintendo’s U.S. schedule uses Pacific Time, so players outside that region should treat the listed cutoff as a time-zone issue rather than a local midnight reset.
For completion-minded players, the key point is that a missed wave is different from a missed individual purchase. The sources confirm each wave has its own limited window, but they do not confirm whether earlier wave elements return during the final week. Anyone trying to build a full Fortune’s Weave profile set should open the app before the October 14 cutoff and make decisions based on what is actually visible in their region.
How to claim the Switch Online icon rewards
Nintendo says players should check the Nintendo Switch Online app on a Nintendo Switch 2 or Nintendo Switch system to avoid missing icon elements. A Nintendo Account is required to receive and redeem My Nintendo points, according to Nintendo’s terms note, and any Nintendo Switch Online membership is required for online features. Nintendo also notes that membership is sold separately, auto-renews after the initial term at the then-current price, requires internet access, and is not available in all countries.
The claim path is the standard Missions & Rewards flow rather than a download from the eShop. Players use Platinum Points to redeem individual icon elements, then combine available parts into a user icon. Nintendo’s page links the promotion to My Nintendo and the Nintendo Switch Online app, while Nintendo Everything and GoNintendo provide the cost breakdown for the individual pieces.
The buyer’s-guide version is this: if you already have a Nintendo Switch Online membership and spare Platinum Points, the campaign is a low-friction cosmetic reward. If you do not have a membership, the sources do not support treating these icons as a reason by themselves to subscribe. Nintendo’s own fine print makes clear that membership is a paid, auto-renewing service after the initial term, so the better value case is for players already using NSO for other features.
How the campaign keeps Fortune’s Weave in the feed after launch
Nintendo has not publicly stated, in the supplied source material, that the icon campaign is designed as post-launch marketing. What is confirmed is the structure: a launch-adjacent Nintendo Switch Online reward program, four weekly refreshes, and a final October 14 endpoint. That structure naturally gives Fire Emblem: Fortune’s Weave repeated visibility inside a system-level app during the weeks immediately following release.
That matters for an RPG with a long progression curve. Nintendo’s store-facing description presents Fortune’s Weave as a tactical RPG about traveling through time, gathering allies, and guiding four heroes across interwoven journeys from past to present. The official copy names Balor, a demon god, and frames the story around trying to save the future from ruin. GoNintendo’s quoted game description adds that the year is 1454, the Dagdan Empire is on the brink of ruin after Balor’s return, and a soul descends from the heavens at the behest of the goddess Sothis.
Those are campaign hooks, not icon mechanics, but they explain why rotating character portraits are a natural fit. Fire Emblem players tend to attach identity to units, routes, and army composition. A weekly set of character icons turns that attachment into a profile choice, keeping the cast in front of players while they are still meeting allies, testing builds, and comparing story paths.
What is confirmed, and what remains unclear
The confirmed facts are narrow but useful. Fire Emblem: Fortune’s Weave icon elements are available through Nintendo Switch Online for a limited time. The campaign is divided into four waves from September 16 through October 14, 2026. Character elements cost 10 Platinum Points, while frames and backgrounds cost 5 Platinum Points, according to Nintendo Everything and GoNintendo. Nintendo says the elements are redeemed with My Nintendo Platinum Points and used to refresh a user icon. Nintendo Everything reports that redeemed icon elements remain yours even if your Nintendo Switch Online membership ends.
The unanswered pieces are mostly about completeness. The supplied source text does not provide a full written catalog of every character, background, or frame in each wave. It also does not state whether Nintendo plans a rerun after October 14, whether regional selections differ, or whether any Fortune’s Weave icon elements will become available through another route later.
For now, the safest plan is to treat October 14 at 5:59 p.m. PT as the campaign deadline and to redeem only the parts you actually want. Platinum Points are earned and spent across My Nintendo rewards, so a patient tactical player should handle these like inventory resources: confirm the active wave, prioritize favorite characters first, then fill out frames and backgrounds if the point total allows.